Structure of the Ministry

The Ministry has two main professional directorates, the Directorate of Information and the Directorate of Communications, each headed by a Director.
The Directorate of Information is responsible for all mass media and public education activities, while the Directorate of Communication is responsible for ICT related activities. The Ministry also has the Administrative division which is the coordinating body of the Ministry. This division is headed by the Permanent Secretary. He is the chief Adviser to the Minister on strategic planning and development of policies. He liaises with Heads of the other Directorates for expert advice, when necessary.

3.4.3 The Communications Directorate

The Communications Directorate has a Director of Communications; two Deputy Directors, one for policy and the other for e-Government; seven Chief Technology Officers; 16 ICT Managers, fifteen Senior ICT Officers, Nine ICT Officers, twenty-four Assistant ICT Officers, twenty-three IT Technicians Level 1 and fourteen I. T Technicians, Level II. However, a good number of staff have been posted to Ministries, Departments and Government Agencies.
The Communication Directorate develops and manages Government’s website including that of State House. It liaises with NATCOM and IMC on matters of Communications strategy and policy development in order to ensure that the views of the Regulator and those responsible for implementation are heard. It also liaises with the mobile phone companies and internet service providers. There is an ICT Council chaired by His Excellency the President. The work of the Council is facilitated by the Director of Communications. In the past ICT experts evaded the Civil Service because of low salaries and incentives. This has become a thing of the past as the salaries of the ICT Cadre has been dramatically increased. It may also be worthy to point out that the Directorate liaises with all ICT related projects under the purview of the Ministry including the West African Regional Communications Integrated Project, WARCIP; the ECOWAS Regional Backbone Infrastructure and e-Governance, ECOWAN Sierra Leone; the National Optical Backbone.

The Information Directorate

The Information Directorate is responsible for the dissemination of Government Policies, aspirations, achievements, challenges and future plans to the citizenry. This is done through the media. The Directorate hold Press Conferences every Thursday where their responsibilities are discharged. Press Briefings also discuss topical issues of the week and the implementing Ministry, Department and Agency (MDAs) and the Press are given the opportunity to talk on the issue.


Leadership Team

Leadership Team


Request a service